About Us


The Olusegun Obasanjo Centre for African Studies (OOCAS) was established in March 2016 and it is located within the National Open University of Nigeria headquarters in Jabi, Abuja, Nigeria. The Centre is named after His Excellency, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, GCFR, former President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, in recognition of his exemplary leadership in Nigeria and Africa; as well as his immense contributions to international peace and development.

The Centre is an independent, non-profit organization involved in development research with a view to promoting and deepening good governance in Nigeria and Africa as a whole. It seeks to examine critical policy issues, including democratization and good governance, rule of law and anti-corruption, peace and conflict resolution, as well as human rights and ethical values; and to contribute to the national debate on these issues with a view to achieving sustainable development.

Core Values of OOCAS

  • Integrity
  • Professionalism
  • Respect for Diversity
  • Transparency
  • Accountability 


While the Centre is funded by the National Open University of Nigeria, the issue of development is so vast that it can easily overwhelm the capacity of any entity that chooses to go it alone. Therefore, the Centre seeks for meaningful and beneficial partnership with all development/donor agencies, civil society organizations and private individuals who wish to collaborate and support the Centre to achieve its objectives.

Mission Statement of OOCAS

To contribute to the promotion of development in Nigeria and Africa through intellectual discourse and cutting edge empirical research and studies.

Management of OOCAS

OOCAS is one of the Directorates of NOUN. It is headed by a Director who reports to the Vice Chancellor. Since its establishment in 2016, OOCAS has been headed by three Directors:

  1. Prof. Abdullahi Yibaikwal Shehu, OON, Ph.D., Professor of Criminology, Director, March 2016 – January 2018.
  2. Prof. Stanley Naribo Ngoa, Ph.D. Wits., Professor of Mass Communication, Director, 14th March 2018 – 12th August 2021.
  3. Prof. Eserinune McCarty Mojaye, Ph.D., Professor of Mass Communication, Director, 12th August 2021 till date.